Arts & Culture 
 Human Rights 
 U.S. Asian Policy 

Home > South Asia > 

IHF overhauls team for Azlan Shah Cup

Bangalore: Top hockey players, including captain Dilip Tirkey and star striker Gagan Ajit Singh, have been surprisingly excluded from India's hockey team for the prestigious Azlan Shah tournament in Malaysia with even the chief coach finding himself sidelined. The Indian Hockey Federation, which had earlier named a list of probables on expected lines, on Wednesday made wholesale changes with a view to promote youngsters. The new 25- member list, announced here by IHF president K P S Gill, also excluded some other regulars like Deepak Thakur while chief coach Rajinder Singh was given a new role as observer for the January 8-15 tournament in Kuala Lumpur. Junior coach Harendra Singh takes Rajinder's place.

© Copyright 2002-2007 AFAR