Arts & Culture 
 Human Rights 
 U.S. Asian Policy 

Home > Southeast Asia > 

Informal meeting a precedent for ASEAN

In an informal meeting on Sunday, the Malaysian and Thai cabinets and prime ministers held successful discussions around issues including agriculture, terrorism, and a gas pipeline that would link gas fields in the Gulf of Thailand with Malaysia.

While this is a first for the two nations to meet in such an informal setting, both agreed that this method may have set the precedent on how the ten nations of Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN), consisting of Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia, Singapore, Brunei, Myanmar, Cambodia, Laos, the Philippines and Vietnam, can strength ties among each other.

© Copyright 2002-2007 AFAR